Sign In Forgot Password

Kashrut Policy


1. All food and food products brought into the kitchen must be kosher. Food is considered kosher if : 

a. The product bears a recognizable kashrut symbol. The validity of a particular symbol shall be determined by the Rabbi. Any food packages brought into the kitchen must be unopened. 

b. The product does not require certification. Examples are: fresh fruit and vegetables, eggs (uncooked), milk, sugar, flour, natural spices, pure juice, unflavored coffee, unflavored tea and bottled water. The Rabbi is the final authority in determining which products require supervision. 

c. Products from sources (i.e. bakeries) approved by the Rabbi as kosher. No food cooked in any home may be brought into the kitchen. Those who wish to prepare "home made" food will be allowed to use the synagogue kitchen. The Rabbi will be responsible for supervising any baking or cooking done in the synagogue kitchen. 

2. In the kitchen itself: 

a. Separate sinks will be used for meat and dairy foods.

b. Separate cabinets will be maintained for meat and dairy pots, pans and utensils.

c. The dishwashers may be used for either dairy or meat; however, dairy and meat may not be combined and washed together in the same dishwasher.

d. Meat and dairy will not be prepared at the same time in the kitchen or in the oven.

e. Separate plates will be maintained for meat and dairy food. 

f. Glass dishes may be used for meat or for dairy, at separate times. 

g. No cooking, including brewing coffee, will be done on Shabbat.

Automatic timers, set before Shabbath, may be used to keep water heated in the urn. No gas appliances may be turned on or off on Shabbath.

Electric appliances may be used only to perform acts permissible on Shabbat [i.e. warming already cooked solid food (see Rabbi on definition of 'solid')]. No food deliveries are permitted on Shabbat. (This includes a congregant bringing in any packaged item into the synagogue on Shabbat) 

h. There will be some food available after services on Friday evenings that will be pareve. 

i. Caterers or accommodators may use the kitchen only with the approval of the Rabbi and under the supervision of the Rabbi. 

j. In accordance with the rulings of the Committee on Law and Standards, any pure cheese (i.e. cheese without any additional flavorings or ingredients) made in U. S. plants may be used. Cheeses with a hechsher are preferred. 

1. How do I know if a food contains dairy products? 

More and more of the foods that carry a kosher certification also indicate whether the food is meat, dairy or pareve. For dairy products, a "D" or "dairy" is found next to the kosher symbol. However, a food not marked "D" or "dairy" may still have dairy ingredients. Look at the ingredient list carefully; "butter", "whey", or "whey solids" are all examples of dairy ingredients. "Caseinates" of all types, and "lactic acid" may be dairy ingredients. If you have any doubts, please consult the Rabbi. 

2. Why may I turn the lights on in the synagogue, but I am not allowed to brew coffee?

The Law Committee of the Conservative Movement has ruled that (connecting or disconnecting an electrical circuit -- using electricity) on Shabbath is allowed under certain circumstances. In particular, electricity may be used to perform any act that would not otherwise be forbidden on Shabbath - and when the use of electricity enhances the Shabbath experience. Thus, turning on a light which involves nothing but the use of electricity, and can allow for reading, worship and celebration is permitted. Using electricity to run a vacuum cleaner, shave or cook are not allowed, as these are activities which are not permitted on Shabbath. Note that there are many Conservative rabbis who do not permit (connecting or disconnecting an electrical circuit using electricity) the use of electricity on Shabbath. 

3. Why may we now cook pareve foods in dairy pans and serve them on Friday night?

If a dish or a baked good contains only pareve ingredients, it is pareve, even if it is baked in a dairy pan. Nonetheless, for the sake of consistency, a pareve dish baked in a dairy pan should not be served at a meat meal. However, since the food itself is pareve, it may be served at an oneg Shabbath on Friday night, since the Oneg Shabbath takes place after the Shabbath meal.


Sat, December 4 2021 30 Kislev 5782